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One in five fatal crashes (20%) involves a driver who is unlicensed or  
whose license is suspended, cancelled, or revoked.¹
Approximately 600,000 driver license suspensions are mandated by
courts and processed by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles in Ohio each year.²
Two-thirds of drivers continue to drive while under
suspension.¹
According to research, impaired driving is associated
with unlicensed driving.³ In fact, between 50 and 75 
percent  of those whose licenses are suspended or revoked due to 
impaired driving continue to drive illegally without a license.⁴
The Ohio State Highway Patrol issued over 50,000 citations in 2004 and 
2005 for driving without a valid driver license. Approximately one in eight 
citations resulted from a crash.

UNLICENSED & UNINSURED DRIVERS

Many unlicensed drivers are also uninsured.³ An estimated 13% of Ohio 
motorists are currently driving without automobile insurance.⁵

In 2004 and 2005, approximately 10% of fatal crashes (7% of injury 
crashes and 4% of property damage crashes) involved an uninsured
driver.

In 40% of fatal crashes (50% of injury crashes) caused by an uninsured 
driver in 2004 and 2005, speeding was the primary contributing factor.

In fatal crashes involving uninsured drivers, the uninsured drivers were at 
fault 75% of the time (they were at fault in 72% of injury crashes and 76% 
of property crashes).

Penalties for driving uninsured in Ohio include loss of driver license for 
30 days up to one year, and license reinstatement fees ranging between 
$75 and $500 (Ohio Insurance Inst.).




